Crazy Hits California

Screenshot 2014-10-30 16.28.44

I’m rowdy and I really can’t (and don’t want to) help it. A Cuban-Lebanese girl raised in Miami could have no other fate and would be unable to blend into her hometown if she were any other way. Except, I’m not in my hometown anymore. I’m a transplant; an immigrant to the most calm and collected place in the civilized world – Orange County.

It’s an interesting place, Orange County. People don’t yell, rarely dance and it never rains. There is no “inside voice”, just an expected, civilized voice and that in itself makes me feel like the craziest person within 500 square miles. My SO, whose only experience in my hometown was the “worst customer service ever” at the airport during a layover, thought I was an unwarranted lunatic till he met my parents and my city. Now he embraces the crazy, letting me scream answers to his questions, analyze everyone and everything in my line of vision and have impromptu dance parties in the living room.

While I often miss the chaos of police sirens, yelling neighbors and subjective traffic laws, I’m grateful to be immersed in a region of the US that knows more about food on a global scale than like 70% of the world combined.* Thirty minutes in any direction is an endless possibility of international cuisine and ingredient-conscious grocery stores. My life has become a series of Chopped episodes, playing with items I’ve never heard of and learning that my potential in the kitchen goes far beyond the knowledge I’ve acquired from my extremely talented father, cookbooks and TV. I have instincts. I also have moral and creative support willing to eat and critique my creations, so when I started talking about making salad dressing out of leftover avocados, the answer was a simple nod.

We knew immediately this would be no ordinary salad. The soon to be avocado dressing is screaming for the leftover miso in our fridge and both of those combined are calling for noodles. Kelp noodles. Why kelp noodles, you ask? Well, for many reason, some of which are listed below:

  1. Kelp noodles are low in carbohydrates. For those of us trying to watch our figure without resorting to a high fat diet, options like kelp noodles are a dream come true.
  2. Kelp noodles are rich in various nutrients, including iodine, which promotes a healthy thyroid. Read more about the health benefits of kelp HERE.
  3. All noodles are just a vessel for sauce, might as well skip the carbs, phytates and insulin & blood sugar spike.

The health benefits of avocado are all over the Internet – I challenge you to look them up. In the meantime, I’m off to buy kelp noodles – something I didn’t even know existed 6 months ago and wouldn’t have touched otherwise.

It seems this magically civilized city has increased my need for chaos in the kitchen. Adventurous, educational, messy, delicious chaos.

See you on the next post with the results of my kelp noodle salad!

@Stefab85

*Not a real statistic.

Leave a Reply

